Hi from SE Asia

Azean

Hi all,

I've been researching and learning to grow in the tropics for a couple of years now and finally seem to have learned enough to bring the long term local Asian sativas to harvest this year. I think I actually know enough to grow all I need for personal use now, with plenty extra to share with a few close friends. Currently I have both a Thai and Cambodian landrace female in my garden. The Thai plant is in full sun, which was a mistake. The Cambo is looking much better in partial shade. The tropical sun is just a bit too intense for full exposure, I think, as the Thai plant is in excellent soil yet is doing much poorer than the Cambodian plant which is well shaded but in good but not great soil.

The next round I have a couple of ideas that I feel will ensure better results. I'll put them all in partial shade and mix high quality soil before transplanting into the garden. I feel sure that's all of the refinement needed for the best possible results. I'm also planning to acquire some GHS seeds to cross with these excellent Asian sativas. For my situation I'd prefer to tame these two varieties just a bit and shorten their height as much as possible with as little compromise as possible in the resulting high. I am eagerly awaiting your advice, and please keep in mind that I live in the tropics and can grow a small personal garden but can't have 15 ft sativas towering over the neighborhood.

I think that pretty much does it for introductions, that's what I am doing and why I'm here. From my own experience and research I have to say the GHS guys are, for me, the best there is when focusing on breeding and growing as well as their overall attitude towards the world and their place in it so why would I mess around anywhere else?

Hi Azean, welcome on Sh forum, damn you are lucky to still have the possibility to grow landraces when you want, would love to have a local landrace in my country too, but i don't lol.