basic simple growth medium question

Ghost'sshadow

heres a basic medium mix a grower friend of mine suggested.

to create 3cu ft of medium:

1 cu. ft. Canadian sphagnum peat moss

1 cu ft. mushroom compost

1 cu Ft vermiculite

3 cup Dolomite lime

into mixture of this mix

3 cup kelp meal

3 cup alfalfa meal

3 cup Tom/veg/herb fert

(Dr Earth HG is what I have available.)

mix, water, and bag or pile for 1-3 weeks.

now I have some experience in container vegetable gardens and wouldn't hesitate to use this mix there but this is for medicinal cannabis purposes. 

inasmuch I have a few specific questions.

I was wondering what yall thought about it esp about mushroom compost. PH PPM salts etc...

the next question is should 12 cups Granite dust be added during the initial  "cooking" process  or can appropriate amount be added just prior to potting?

will adding 1/2 cu ft worm castings help the mix?

TIA

GS

heres what we tossed together.

2.2 ft*3  Canadian sphagnum peat moss (compressed)

2 ft*3     mushroom compost

1 ft*3      worm castings

3.5 ft*3  vermiculite

Into 9 ft*3 bio-mass fold

8 cup Dolomite lime

8 cup kelp meal

8 cup alfalfa meal

8 cup Tom/veg/herb fert

16 cup granite dust

1 cup Azomite

16 gal water

double bag 2 4.5 ft*3 measures into  50 gl. leaf bags  l

place on western exposure for 5 days then hand aerate  every 3 days for 2 weeks

makes a really light fluffy fertile growing medium

• 2 weeks later...

just to report... in the 7 days after t planting into 7 gal smart pots kids have grown substantial like 6" or so in height and are flushing out nicely.

my guess is that they will grow at an even faster rate now that the roots have set into the additional medium.

seems that this medium is a winner. one correction would be to use pure EWC rather than a EWC blend

will do a PH check later next week but a cursory one take the day they were t planted came back at 6.5 and 6.2

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...