EC question...?

Hello

Excuse my stupid question but i'm new in growing and i need a tip. I know the EC measures the electrical conductivity. But i don't know how to keep EC level from certain level to a certain level for example from 1.6 to 1.8.... Is this the EC of the water with the nutrients or the EC of the soil? All tips on EC are welcome 'cause i still dont know how to handle it...

An EC meter (Electrical Conductivity) also know as PPM (Parts Per Million) and CF (Conductivity Factor) meters basically measure the total level of disolved solids. i.e. nutrients, salts or impurities in the water. The higher the number the more solids are dissolved in the water. See conversion chart below...

CF Value PPM Value EC Value
0 0 0.0
1 70 0.1
2 140 0.2
3 210 0.3
4 280 0.4
5 350 0.5
6 420 0.6
7 490 0.7
8 560 0.8
9 630 0.9
10 700 1.0
11 770 1.1
12 840 1.2
13 910 1.3
14 980 1.4
15 1050 1.5
16 1120 1.6
17 1190 1.7
18 1260 1.8
19 1330 1.9
20 1400 2.0
21 1470 2.1
22 1540 2.2
23 1610 2.3
24 1680 2.4
25 1750 2.5
26 1820 2.6
27 1890 2.7
28 1960 2.8
29 2030 2.9
30 2100 3.0
31 2170 3.1
32 2240 3.2
33 2310 3.3
34 2380 3.4
35 2450 3.5
36 2520 3.6
37 2590 3.7
38 2660 3.8
39 2730 3.9
40 2800 4.0
41 2870 4.1
42 2940 4.2

Most tap water ranges from 2CF in "soft" water areas up to 8CF in very "hard" water areas. These salts are basically useless as they are what some people call dead salts, basically contaminants with no use to the plant e.g. chlorine etc Anyways I would suggest you buy a good book if you are new to growing, amazon has a wide range of good books available. Buy 1 that is intended for beginers or an introduction to growing as some books can be a little to full on for beginners!

But to answer your question for now, following the instructions on your nutrients is the nest way to go for now. If your plants are seedling size up to 6 inches feed at quater strength, 6 to 12 inches half strength, full strength from then upwards!