Expedition India, The Wooden Chillium(?)

Hey, just joined, so super jelous of the expeditions. Just the nature in the India expedition was epic, to be able to go around, collect off of plants and enjoy the mountain hikes looked mind blowing.

I did have a question from the India video, how did that sweet cherry wooden pipe (chillium) come to being? I have a cherry tree and ever since I saw the India video have wanted to carve one myself.

Tried looking at the video but I'm not very good at being able to tell how stuff is built. I was simply going to cut a nice shaft from a limb and drill a hole straight through, maybe sand a bit for a better finger seal.

Anyway just seeing if anyone could comment on any specifics about the pipe from the video and any advice on carving my own :)

• 3 months later...

chillums are made of clay...wooden chillum like devices are pipes. chillums have a stone inside. where as the pipe wont. any tube like thing is not a chillum. chillums are made of clay, and as antiques they are made of stone or marble. the mix sits on a stone fit into the chillum. lit from the top. pulled from the bottom. the stone is the same shape as the chillum roughly. however it is solid, and fits inside the chillum. it doesnt have a compartment like a pipe.

respect from india. boom.

• Like 1

i will drill two holes one from the top where the ganja comes in and the other one smaller thinner where u suck from i found very nice ones to buy just like those twoe beautyschillum_wood_leaf_1.jpgindex.jpg"for inspiration"

i dont have that much tools or even the practice for such nice chillums but its worth a try anyway

the other idea was to build a chalice with my black stone chillum that is pretty easy i guess........

Dread History:

The African Diaspora,

Ethiopianism, and Rastafari

13derm.jpg

Derminte and Bongo Shephan, Rasta elders with the chalice (ganja pipe)