BudVirgo420

DWC Yield question

2 posts in this topic

Hi everyone. I am new to using forums and I am sorry if this is in the wrong spot. I had seen a video on Green House Seed Co. website, the grow sessions video for El Nino, about 4:55. They say that they flush the plant on day 21 of flower with 6 liters of water. They then dry the plant out for 5 days before feeding it. My question to you is ho ould you do this with a DWC? I hope my question makes sense. Thank you very much!

1 person likes this

First off let me welcome you to Strain Hunters nice to have another new member aboard. :D

Why not post a bit about yourself and your grow set up in our introduce yourself section of the forums.

we'll be sure to say hi and welcome you a bit more ;)

OK to the meat and bones of you quetsion

I watched the video and have tried to look ate the differences in the hydroponic set ups ie.hydro with substrate vs. DWC

This is my best guess, hopefully a full time DWCer can add more.

The pots they are using are 65 liters.

Prior to flushing the nutrient solution is @1.3 EC

The amount of water they flush with is 60 liters , not 6 liters !

They are fllushing a hydroponic substrate (rock wool flakes, I think), DWC has no substrate to flush.

Due to the large amount of water used to flush,the substrate become saturated with water and is allowed to dry out for 5 day.This allows lots of oxygen to the roots.

The flush and the drying period means there is only a little nutrients in the substrate and the plant become hungry.

Then they feed with nutrient solution @ 1.8 EC and the plants blow up.

DWC

Nutrient solution @1.3 EC prior to nutrient change @ day 16 of flower.

No substrate to flush. Though you could clean the buckets of any residue on the sides.

Day 16 of flower ,change the nutrient solution to a weaker solution (I don't know what EC but try a quater strength feed)

As it is DWC there is no substrate to flush and there is always plenty of oxygen to the roots.