Redd Beardd's Organic Garden: Redd Beardd's Return

Well, after an unexpected hiatus I'm back and growing again!  During my downtime, I've read more on organic and biodynamic gardening and gone much farther down the rabbit hole.  My soil mix hasn't changed nor has my compost tea recipe.  I have however, stumbled across a new area of study, biodynamic gardening.  Most of you are probably more familiar with the term gardening by the moon.  Biodynamic gardening takes this a step further by accounting for the not only the lunar phase, but also the lunar sign.  Yea, yea I know...that's some real hippy shit right there.  But before you blow it off, just know that it's not about mysticism or how to plant, but about when to plant.  It's like a scheduling guideline.  I'm still a relative newbie in my understanding, but the basic premise is that the gravitational pull of the Moon exerts a measurable force (a.k.a. gravity) on water on Earth and to a lesser degree so do the planets.  The Moon's pull increases and decreases as it passes through the four phases (1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarter) and as it passes through each phase it also spends approximately 2.5 days in each sign.  You beginning to get the scheduling idea yet?  Anyway, each sign of the zodiac is associated with a given element (fire, earth, water, air) and each element is better for certain types of garden activities.  For example, Cancer is water sign and is the most fertile of all the signs.  During 1st or 2nd quarter (waxing / increasing) when the Moon is in Cancer is said to be the best time to sow seeds or transplant plants that produce their fruits or vegetables above ground.  While cultivating, pulling weeds, applying organic fertilizers, planting root crops, etc is said to be best done during the 3rd or 4th quarter (waning / decreasing) when the Moon is in a dry or barren sign like Taurus.  

Anyway, enough of that hippy shit and on to the good stuff...

Strains

• Wild Thailand
    • ​Strain:  Pure Sativa